WWDC, Firefox, Camino, Intel Updates

I haven’t been able to post much lately, but here is what has been going on with me and Mozilla stuff lately.

I’m at WWDC now, which is pretty cool. Many of the sessions could be replaced by some simple documentation (RTFM!), which is disappointing (the documentation exists, they just feel the need to read it off for you). The real value of WWDC is being able to talk to Apple engineers and other developers. Also, Apple has labs in which you can test software in different environments with different tools.

Apple is moving to Intel chips, as you probably know. I have attended a couple of sessions on porting to Intel and making the move to universal binaries, and talked to some engineers about it. I think I have a good plan that I don’t want to outline here. So we’re on it, and you’ll have fresh native copies of Firefox and Camino for your shiny new Intel macs when or soon after thay come out. Great news: Apple actually ported Firefox to Intel already, and they are giving us the patches. They used Firefox as an example of how to port to Intel. Lucky me, because now I don’t have to do it.

On the Camino front, we’re working on 0.9 but stalled for the week. Simon and I are at WWDC and Mike is on vacation. Next week we’re going to get a lot done I think and we’ll branch with the next major SeaMonkey/FF branch. I have put a lot of thought into what needs to be done for 0.9 at WWDC, but I haven’t had time to do it. Same old story huh? Yup. If you want it faster fire up Xcode and give us a hand. Its not hard, we’re around to help, and its a great project to work on.

A lot more is going on now with Mac Mozilla products, but I’m out of time. I’ll try to update my blog more.

6 thoughts on “WWDC, Firefox, Camino, Intel Updates

  1. I’m sure I’ll get the WWDC DVD’s in a month or so when they go on sale, but here’s a question that may lighten or weigh down my workload. Everyone in the press seems to be saying that the move to Intel = Leopard. That’s not the way my boss sees it. Steve’s webcast said new Mac’s on Intel will debut at the next WWDC for the public and that Leopard will debut in late 2006 or 2007 aside Longhorn. That mean’s we’ll have Tiger for Intel for six months or so (and hence a lighter workload not having to take advantage of new features) and then later we’ll be privy to the Leopard enhancements being kept quiet now. I really hope I’m not going to be adding new Leopard API features at the same time I’m debugging my app’s strange behavior differences on PPC and Intel? We live in interesting times as Mac developers, be glad that Apple did all the work for you 🙂

  2. Visit BlogShares and support a Firefox text ad -Click here to give me 5 chips to keep the ad running. Please click once a day! With your help I can have the Firefox ad there for weeks!.

  3. You say fire up xcode and help out.

    I’ve spent the last few months learning Cocoa and really getting to like it.

    So how do you get started looking at the browser code and learning what it’s built in etc.

Comments are closed.