Mozilla Summit

I’m in California this week for the Mozilla Summit, which is basically all of the Mozilla employees and many (~35) contributors getting together to talk and plan. It’s really great to meet lots of people I’ve communicated with quite a bit over the past 3 years. We have an amazing community, and the people are just as awesome in person as they are over the wire.

Later on this week I plan on updating the Mac OS X Firefox developer pages and putting an update on our progress here. I have lots of good things to say about how things are coming along.

4 thoughts on “Mozilla Summit

  1. Regarding Mac OS X Firefox, in an earlier comment I was lamenting the performance. I would just like to say that 1.5’s performance is so vastly better, it is untrue. Even on my new Powerbook with 1Gig RAM, I had to use Safari for heavy Flash sites, but no longer.

    Great work

  2. Josh –

    Reading through the Firefox roadmap I’m left wondering exactly what positives come out of the move to Cocoa widgets other than native looking widgets on webpages? I completely agree that the current widgets suck, but that could be fixed by making the widgets not suck as much. The widgets Firefoxy installs aren’t perfect but a big step in the right direction. If it’s just a move sideways to the Camino status quo, it seems like a lot of work for no real gain and the performance issues mentioned (with no resolution in sight) don’t sound promising. Or maybe it’s an Apple thing for the x86 transition?

Leave a Reply

