In California for the Week

Yesterday I flew to California for some Mozilla employee meetings. I’m spending this weekend in Berkeley with my friends Chris and Bianca. I got really sick on the way here (I don’t know why, flying doesn’t make me sick) and spent an hour throwing up last night, but within two hours Chris had nursed me back to health with miso soup and ginger tea. Thanks Chris!

This morning it was raining when I woke up, and I spent a really pleasant hour catching up on email and listening to the rain on the roof. As if it was on cue, the sun peeked out on the last few lines of my last email, and I went outside and walked all over Berkeley (downtown and through the campus). A girl asked me for directions around the Berkeley campus because she thought I was a student, and she turned out to live maybe 15 blocks away from me in Minneapolis! Crazy crazy.

During the week I’ll be in Mountain View hanging out at Mozilla. I plan to host a discussion about attracting coders to the Mozilla community, work on Universal Binary release issues with Paul Reed, and probably bang on Cocoa widgets with Stuart Parmenter.

On Friday March 31st at 12 noon PST I’ll be co-hosting a radio show at Stanford with my friend Matt Rubin. You can listen live by clicking here. The show is going to be a tribute to Black Flag and the Minutemen, two punk bands from the early 80s. We’re going to see members from both bands play in Hollywood that night. I should get to meet Mike Watt from the Minutemen which will be a dream come true.

3 thoughts on “In California for the Week

  1. Hey Josh –

    The Minutemen were one of my favorite bands growing up. Very cool that you’re going to be featuring them on your show. “Double Nickels on the Dime” rocked. When I was in college I got to see fIREHOSE and have never forgotten Mike Watt’s performance. Talk about sweaty love. 🙂

    Paul

  2. It’s nice to have you back in California for a little while Josh. Now when you go back to MN, you can bring the spring with you there. Tchauzinho,
    chris

Leave a Reply

