Exploding Turkey and other New Year Fun

My friend Thor had a dinner party in Madison on Saturday night. Its sort of like a late Thanksgiving for a bunch of my friends, we call it Thorsgiving. Thor got a 23-lb turkey, which was a little more than he could handle I guess – when taking it out of the oven he bent the tray and spilled a ton of grease. The grease hit the heating element on the oven and the resulting fireball was most impressive. It was seriously taller than me (I am 6’2), and as wide as the oven door. Thor got his face roasted, eyebrows melted and all that, but he seems to be alright. He’s tough.

Thorsgiving was on Saturday, I drove down to Madison on Friday night. I don’t get to seem my friends down there often enough. Jon and Sean and I went out on Friday and saw a DJ called Nick Nice who was amazing (old-school downtempo, soul). He played at a really good restaurant so we got to have a nice meal and some good beer instead of hanging out at a club.

Before Thorsgiving the next day about ten of us went out and played a game of football at a park. I’m not really in shape for that much sprinting so my legs are still in pain. However, aside from my sore legs the game was really fun! I think a big part of why I liked it so much was that none of us normally play football, so we could all be bad at it together.

For new year’s eve I drove back to Minneapolis with my friend Léo. A bunch of other good friends had flown into town and we all got together for the usual partying. It was so great to see everyone!

By the next morning we were all pretty sick and sluggish, but it was such a beautiful day that me, Léo, Seth, Amelia, Margaret, and Ben all drove out to Afton state park for the day. It was pretty much perfect – beautiful weather, a beautiful park, a bunch of my favorite people! We played on the ice covering the lake after Margaret demostrated that it could hold our weight. The ice looked pretty questionable to me but she just casually walked out onto it while the rest of us stood tensely, waiting for a big crack and a splash. We even set up a game of ice bowling, using rocks for pins and bowling balls.

Now it is back to work though 🙂 Thank God I have an awesome job, because if I had to go back to a job I hated after all that fun I think I’d be pretty miserable.

3 thoughts on “Exploding Turkey and other New Year Fun

  1. Josh,
    I’m super jealous that you experienced a flaming turkey on thorsgiving! Sounds like fun. How can I get in touch with you these days? Email me.

    -Marc

    p.s. glad to know wii’re on the same wavelength these days. play zelda!

  2. This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!

Leave a Reply

