What a Weekend!

This weekend was really awesome, so awesome I feel the need to write about it.

On Friday night I went to see the Philadelphia Orchestra perform Brahms and Sibelius. A Norwegian pianist, Leif Ove Andsnes, played with the orchestra for the first half of the concert. When his last part was done, the ovation lasted for almost 5 minutes, with many a deep-throated “Bravo!” ringing through the air.

After the concert I made it to a bar called Johnny Brenda’s just in time to see my friends’ band Red Rocket. They just got back from being on tour and it was good to see everyone again.

Saturday morning at 8 AM I went to my first spinning class in downtown Philly. Spinning for an hour nonstop is way harder than I thought it would be, but I made it all the way through. My classmates and the instructor were awesome. The instructor’s bike had a pool of sweat under it after the class, he definitely set a good example for pushing yourself. The girl to my left kindly corrected me when I was doing something wrong, which is great because I would have been ever more sore at the end without her posture advice. I’m so glad I get to do this 3 times a week! It is a great way to start the day.

After spinning class I went to the Clark Park farmer’s market with my roommate Sean. Got some tasty veggies (including purple cauliflower!) and fresh bread.

An hour later we went back to Clark Park and met up with the Red Rocket boys to see the Spiral Q show at the park. Our friend Alex helped to put it together and the routines that the kids did were hilarious. Sitting in the grass laughing with little kids, college students, punks, parents, dogs and senior citizens was an amazing way to spend the afternoon. Way to be West Phillie!

The last highlight of the weekend was walking through the grounds at the Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) today. I drove up to Princeton with a friend this morning and then we walked over to IAS. The buildings at IAS are nothing compared to the stunningly architected buildings at Princeton, but the grounds are so much more peaceful and beautiful. No hordes of Starbucks-fueled freshmen running around with their cell phones. There aren’t a whole lot of buildings at IAS, but it is on a really nice plot of land with a lake and gorgeous trees turning color behind it. IAS has a fascinating history, I highly recommend checking it out (wikipedia, ias.edu).

2 thoughts on “What a Weekend!

Leave a Reply

